关闭

Baker Block

科斯塔梅萨,CA
红橡投资
240 DU | 4.16 AC | 57.69 DI / AC

就像它所称的城市一样,这个240单元,五层社区是一个大胆,独立和富有表现力的想法的孵化器。 面临的挑战是在工业园区中间的高速公路相邻的三角形场地上建立一个高端社区。 开始作为减轻的限制开始成为一个自由奔放的地方制作的壮举,导致科斯塔梅萨的一个缩影:前卫,折衷,“艺术之城”,沿海凉爽的供应商。

建筑灵感来自不同的来源。 附近的特斯拉交付设施,LAB反购物中心,CAMP,天文台OC提供了诱人的未来愿望,如项目的纤维水泥壁板,金属挂架和意想不到的角度所示。 这个城市的另类冲浪和滑板文化赋予了冷色调,并带有前卫的碳角元素。 年轻人对真实性的要求很高,导致铆钉,接头和螺钉暴露在外。 建筑元素以新颖的方式应用:阳台栏杆在间距上加速; 偏移窗口安排散发出异想天开的俏皮感; 建筑内部是发现一个看似无穷无尽的一系列舒适,另类的聚会空间。

加利福尼亚有一种典型的室内空气质量,项目的三角形的xeriscaping和石笼墙构成了建筑物的前卫地面。 绿色植物通过大量使用绿色屏幕爬上建筑物,然后滑入社区花园。 透明的租赁大堂邀请游客在户外进入带豪华小屋的宽敞泳池甲板。 最后,玻璃环形屋顶甲板提供露天体验,享有圣安娜山脉的景色。

在前卫的创意表达中,该项目以建筑物作为画布进行实验。 面向高速公路的边缘被提供给国际活动家和艺术家Shepard Fairey,他的136'x55“欢迎回家”壁画以大胆的色彩和图案点燃周围环境。 壁画,以及沿着高速公路的垂直大门标志,突然为这座城市提供了一个可识别的,完全独特的,完全适合的门户。

所获奖项

2018 MHN卓越奖 - 金奖,最佳新发展和设计:中期崛起

Baker Block

科斯塔梅萨,CA
项目详情

Close

Baker Block

Costa Mesa, CA
Red Oak Investments
240 DU | 4.16 AC | 57.69 DI/AC

Like the city it calls home, this 240-unit, five-story community is an incubator of bold, independent and expressive ideas. The challenge was to craft an upmarket community on a freeway-adjacent, triangular site in the middle of an industrial park. What began as constraints to be mitigated blossomed into a feat of free-spirited place-making, resulting in a microcosm of Costa Mesa: edgy, eclectic, “City of the Arts,” purveyor of coastal cool.

Architectural inspiration was drawn from disparate sources. A nearby Tesla delivery facility, the LAB Anti-Mall, The CAMP, Observatory OC lent enticing futuristic aspirations, as seen in the project’s fiber cement siding, metal pylons and unexpected angles. The city’s alternative surf and skate culture lent a cool color palette accented with edgy carbon corner elements. There is a youthful demand for authenticity, resulting in exposed rivets, joints and screws. Architectural elements are applied in novel ways: balcony rails accelerate in spacing; offset window arrangements exude a whimsical playfulness; the building interior is about discovering a seemingly endless series of cozy, offbeat gathering spaces.

There’s a quintessential Californian quality of the indoors flowing outward, with the project’s triangular patches of xeriscaping and gabion walls constituting an edgy ground to the building’s figure. The green climbs up the building via extensive use of green screens and slides out into a community garden. A see-through leasing lobby invites the visitor outdoors into a spacious pool deck with luxurious cabanas. Finally, the glass ringed roof deck offers an open air experience with views of the Santa Ana Mountains.

In the avant-garde of creative expression, the project experiments with the building as canvas. A freeway-facing edge was offered to international activist and artist, Shepard Fairey, whose 136’x55’ “Welcome Home” mural ignites its surroundings in bold colors and patterns. The mural, along with a vertical marquee sign along the freeway, suddenly provides the city with a recognizable, wholly unique, totally befitting gateway.

Awards

2018 MHN Excellence Awards - Gold, Best New Development & Design: Mid-Rise

Baker Block

Costa Mesa, CA
Project Details